Finally, I am back to the Nepal diaries.. Yay.. I like to remind myself of the trip so here we go. I had been living in Nepal for a few weeks by the time this trip came about but it was still something quite new and was interesting to be told that I would be going with Jagan who was my guide/best friend/undeniably invaluable during my time in the village to stay a night with his sister in law and visit Besisahar which is where a lot of people go to when they start trekking the Annapurna circuit. Jagan promised me that I would see lots of my people there.

After packing my bag and leaving the beautiful views of the village I had come to love Ghalegaun, we started to head down the hill and along the path to Sunte Bazaar. This was my one point of access to the outside world whilst in the village. Through my lovely altimeter I soon learnt that Sunte Bazaar was situated 1000 metres below the village and was on a river and thus had a road and access to the internet. This was the trek I had to make if I wanted to contact home. The walk took about three hours down hill and was helped by the large amounts of oranges growing everywhere on the way.

Upon arriving in Sunte Bazaar we had to get a bus to take us to the village along the road where Jagan’s sister in law lived. She had two children who I had met before and both spoke reasonable English so I was looking forward to seeing them and talking to them and seeing what they knew about England and what they remembered from when we last spoke. When we got there, we ate a few biscuits with tea and then left for Besisahar which meant we had to take another bus. Jagan took me to see his friend who was a tailor and was working in his shop on a sewing machine. Unless you have been to this part of the world you will not be able to understand what it is like to be in the shops as they are just the front of the houses opened up onto the street. A shop in Nepal and a shop in England look completely different, however the shops in Nepal look a lot more exciting.

Unfortunately, this is when an awkward incident occurred, a young boy came up to the shop where we were sitting and just sat right in front of me and didn’t say anything. He didn’t even look at me, he just held out his hand expecting me to give him some money. Situations like this are always awkward. As a person in this part of the world, there is no denying that you have the money to spare however there is also the fact that if you were to give money to everyone like this then you soon would not have the money and you do not know what the money will be spent on. This is where Jagan proved invaluable and told the boy to go and find us a bus to take us to Besisahar, giving the boy a job meant that giving him 5 rupees wasn’t much of a deal and everyone was happy. We were soon on our way to the delights of Besisahar.

Arriving in Besisahar, I don’t know what I was really expecting but it was just like any other roadside town in Nepal. One big central street where there were shops and then houses around to either side. We walked up and down the main strip looking in the various shops and deciding on what to do. Jagan showed me where the path started for the big Annapurna 30 day trek which was interesting, and as promised I saw some Westerners amongst the Nepali crowds however didn’t talk to anyone.

The Nepali diet I was used to was pretty basic, it didn’t lack any nutrients however Jagan decided to offer me some pig meat if I wanted it. I said that it would be cool and he said that his sister in law would cook it for us if we bought some so we went to find the pig butcher and bought some pig meat. Good times, although it was a far cry from bacon/gammon/sausages. With pig in hand it was time to head back to find a bus.. or was it?

Looking back through Besisahar we saw a few people from the village where I was staying and thought it was a long way for them to come. We went up to them and started to talk and it turned out one of the older men had a bad case of dysentry so they had come to take him to the hospital. We decided to go with them and I wanted to see what the hospital looked like. It was a lot cleaner than the other buildings and was better built however the equipment was basic to Western standard and it still suffered from the power cuts which seem to plague the whole country of Nepal. Lots of posters were around the hospital about correct breastfeeding and injections for newborn children which was interesting.

The man was put on a drip and told to stay at the hospital overnight. We went to leave and it was already dark, hopefully we would be able to get a bus back.. We waited for about 20 minutes desperately trying to see a bus but nothing would stop for us and things weren’t looking good. Jagan explained we had missed the last bus… what could we do.. and to make matters worse we had attracted attention of the military.

