During the past couple of days, I have been thinking long and hard about the Global Bicycle Race which I am aiming to take part in next year. I am trying to decide whether the decision to do the event for the sake of it is right for me. I have always wanted to cycle around the world, but doing it at such speed, will some of the magic be lost?

I have weighed up the arguments and believe the option to do the race is a positive one and because it has a central organisation it will be more motivation to get on with it. I have no doubts in my ability to be able to ride a bicycle and hopefully with my training which has already started I should be in quite good shape to be able to give everything for the race. Some of the naturally beautiful things which will be seen along the way may have to be rushed by, however I am only young and will make a note to revisit the parts of the world which I like the most in the future.

I have read countless stories about round the world travel and believe the attraction which draws me in, is the different cultures and scenarios which are certain to be experienced from around the world. The route I plan to take is probably going to be opposite to most of the other people in the race which will be nice as I will be on the otherside of the world for most of the race as I aiim to head West and won’t get caught up on seeing where others are.

At the end of the day, the world record for fastest circumnavigation would be a nice thing to have, but is it the be all and end all, surely the achievement of cycling around the world is pretty impressive however this doesn’t mean I’m not going to try my utmost to make a suitable time.

