Ok so we left things with the team split in two and two of us being stuck at a campsite whilst the other two had gone to seek medical assistance. We had a message to aim to go to Corte which is the capital of Corsica in reality. After a pretty good night’s sleep we set off bright and early and packed everything up so we were ready to hit the road on the fun fun bus down to the nearest place with a railway station so that we could make our way to Corte.

The bus was interesting to say the least. I think 2010 was going to be the year of the bad bus journeys, I thought a bus from London to Edinburgh was bad enough but the roads in this place were more than gentle curves and when the bus tried to take a corner it went totally onto the other side of the road leading me and everyone else on the bus to thinking that we were going to die any minute, however I guess you just have to trust the people who drive you in these situations and we eventually made it down okay and were on our way to Corte on a old fashioned train which was a gentle journey and quite a change and scenery which was rising with the altitude that the train was.

Baguette looks so natural!


Arriving in Corte, we were greeted by smiles by the other two, apparently everything was a bit rushed the day before and they had real difficulty finding a place to sleep for the night and had to shell out a stupid amount of money for some antibiotics for the bad toe even though they were carrying the European Health Insurance Card, looks like it is useless in this situation but excellent if you have a dodgy tooth on the way to Berlin, still haven’t heard anything from that. Free dentistry got to love it!

We looked about the place in Corte and kind of got our bearings a bit, we found a nice campsite where we would sleep for the night and wandered around the place looking for essentials, this inevitably led us to a supermarket where I looked for the right type of gas which they did not have but they had cheese and a baguette which I thought I would pick up and would taste rather good. I even found out my bag had a specific baguette holster, made me feel like I fitted in amongst the French which is difficult to do.

Vizavonna station and view from camp!


At the time, I was quite angry with the whole affair and thought we should have carried on walking or made a better non rushed planned and was pretty quiet in Corte keeping myself to myself but looking back on it, it was probably the right decision to come to the town and eventually we found a place where we could buy the right type of gas although the price was quite ridiculous. With all our supplies and seeing the Germans beat the Argentines 4-0 on a television in the centre we made a plan to get the train out of the place the next day and rejoin the GR20 at Vizzavonna which was a quaint little railway town in the middle of nowhere.

Happy with my own company after washing clothes/self in river.


Upon arriving, we found that the campsite was the other side of the railway track and as we are typically British, crossing the track felt wrong and it appeared that the mosquitoes were out in force in this area which wasn’t the best news so the deet was out and the sun was a welcome break from the constant bites. A river was also close by and was a source of drinking water and some much needed clothes washing. I felt at home here and spent a few days here whilst the others were back tracking a bit and trying to go back on the route a bit. Being alone in these surroundings was great, I felt so chilled out it was awesome and decided it was the first time in ages I had no real worries and thought that I could stay there for a long time. I even made friends with the guys who owned the place and they didn’t charge me for the site and offered me some Corsican smelly sausage for the useless gas, I didn’t want to carry it so it was a done deal. Happy days!

My trusty steed, we've been through so much together.


The rest of the trip was made up in my mind for me, and my meeting two cool German guys helped to make the decision quicker. I wanted to see more of this island and the life on it, dare I say that my university course made me more interested in the locals than wanting to complete the trek, so I told the others that I would be leaving them and heading for the coast with the Germans to have a few days chill out and would meet them at the end point of the trek in a few days time with no clue of how to get there or where I was really going, although I took a risk and knew it would probably be possible in some way or another.

I had a brilliant time, went swimming in the med for the first time ever, saw a few jelly fish which put me off swimming in it too much and saw some of the football matches for the world cup which was always a bonus. I think the decision was definately right for me and I knew the other guys would have a great time completing the trek and they did. Overall, the trip didn’t go exactly as to planned for any of us, although I think we all learnt a lot from it and I think if I could do it again I would not have it any other way. Apart from maybe the Netherlands winning the world cup, the hype surrounding Spain is ridiculous. We flew back to the UK where we all resumed normal life and I went straight from the airport at 4PM to Oxford Street to buy a new outfit which wasn’t trekking clothes at 6PM for a hot date starting at 7PM, the things you do… and back to normal life the next day.

Turned out Corsica is a hot island..


Everyone should be glad to hear that I have managed to sort my Nepal diaries out a little bit and therefore this will be the next thing to take up a few pages in my blog. The diaries are quite extensive and I have received a DVD which was made during my trip, hopefully this gets sent to me at my university address before long and then I can share with everyone what it was truly like out there. Pure bliss. Lots of interesting things in Nepal to come. Embarassing stories and darn right weird and wonderful things.

